A Bit of…Italy Everywhere

Italy's FinestPhoto curtesy of Magnificent Facilities

Italy gave us the Coliseum, the viaducts, the Aperol Spritz, the Ferrari but what is with their toilet situation.  I expect squat toilets in India, Burma, China and Africa but Italy?  Ma dai! 

I had a meeting in a major hospital in Bari and, needing to spend a penny, I was led to the nearest loo.  There I was greeted with a squat toilet…in the doctor’s office, hunh??  In a hospital where some are older and less mobile,  they are expected to hover with no help?

Perugia Train station did a major refurb and still the new bathroom had holes for toilets.  I ate at one of the nicest restaurants in Verona and it had a lovely ceramic tile bathroom – with a squat toilet!  On and on I could go with examples!

The Italians were the first to eat with a  fork and knife, they invented indoor plumbing and baths were de rigeur since the Romans ruled the world.  Everything else is so divine in Italy, but it’s time to get into the 21st century and install modern conveniences that everyone can use!

8 thoughts on “A Bit of…Italy Everywhere

  1. I totally agree with this and demand an explanation! I remember seeing them at a hip club in Paris and being totally confused. You definitely don’t want to be wearing flip flops or thin soled shoes near these.

Leave a comment